Messi, Ronaldo in running for Ballon d’Or award as France Football release 30-man shortlist

The 30-man shortlist for the 2021 Ballon d’Or award has been released by France Football, with Lionel Messi, Cristiano Ronaldo, Robert Lewandowski in the running for the prestigious award.

Messi, who has won the award a record six times, has been nominated for the award for the 15th time and will be aiming for his seventh crown after he inspired Argentina to Copa America glory earlier in the year.

Ronaldo – a five-time winner – who’s now with Manchester United certainly harbours hopes of winning the award again. It is the 36-year-old’s 17th nomination.

N’golo Kante, Karim Benzema, Neymar and European Player of the Year, Jorginho, are also listed.

The winner will be announced at the Ballon d’Or ceremony on 29 November in Paris.


Cesar Azpilicueta (Chelsea)

Nicolo Barella (Inter Milan)

Karim Benzema (Real Madrid)

Leonardo Bonucci (Juventus)

Kevin de Bruyne (Manchester City)

Giorgio Chiellini (Juventus)

Cristiano Ronaldo (Manchester United)

Ruben Dias (Manchester City)

Gianluigi Donnarumma (Paris Saint-Germain)

Bruno Fernandes (Manchester United)

Phil Foden (Manchester City)

Erling Haaland (Borussia Dortmund)

Jorginho (Chelsea)

Harry Kane (Tottenham)

N’Golo Kante (Chelsea)

Simon Kjaer (AC Milan)

Robert Lewandowski (Bayern Munich)

Romelu Lukaku (Chelsea)

Riyad Mahrez (Manchester City)

Lautaro Martinez (Inter Milan)

Kylian Mbappe (Paris Saint-Germain)

Lionel Messi (Paris Saint-Germain)

Luka Modric (Real Madrid)

Gerard Moreno (Villarreal)

Mason Mount (Chelsea)

Neymar (Paris Saint-Germain)

Pedri (Barcelona)

Mohamed Salah (Liverpool)

Raheem Sterling (Manchester City)

Luis Suarez (Atletico Madrid)

Related Articles

Back to top button
Change Language »