Shooting Stars outshine Ekiti United to secure promotion to the NPFL


Shooting Stars Sports Club (3SC) gained promotion to Nigerian top-flight football following a 6–0 demolition of Ekiti United in the NNL Super 8 Playoffs on Saturday.

The Shooting Stars of Ibadan are now back in the Nigeria Professional Football League for the first time since 2017.

They have won the Nigerian Premier League title five times, with their most recent being in 1998.

The Governor of Oyo State, Seyi Makinde hailed the team’s victory, saying: “We are sincerely happy to see our darling team 3SC back to where it belongs; the Nigerian Premier Football League.

“I rejoice with the good people of Oyo State on this wonderful achievement by our darling team and especially the return of good football to Ibadan,” Makinde added.

The 2021/2022 Nigerian Professional Football League will begin in October.

Related Articles

Back to top button
Change Language »