Jorginho named UEFA men’s Player of the Year


Chelsea and Italy midfielder Jorginho has been named Uefa men’s Player of the Year 2020-2021.

Jorginho, 29, beat Blues team-mate N’Golo Kante and Manchester City’s Kevin de Bruyne to the top award.

Jorginho played a vital role as the Blues lifted the Champions League in May, before adding to that triumph by winning the Super Cup earlier this month. The Italian was also a key part of Roberto Mancini’s national side that won Euro 2020 in July.

Thomas Tuchel took the men’s coach of the year award after guiding Chelsea to triumph in the Champions League.

There were further awards for Chelsea as Kante was named the midfielder of the year and Eduoard Mendy claimed the goalkeeper of the year prize.

Men’s Uefa awards:

Player of the year – Jorginho (Chelsea)

Coach of the year – Thomas Tuchel (Chelsea)

Goalkeeper of the year – Edouard Mendy (Chelsea)

Defender of the year – Ruben Dias (Manchester City)

Midfielder of the year – N’Golo Kante (Chelsea)

Forward of the year – Erling Braut Haaland (Borussia Dortmund)

President’s award – Denmark captain Simon Kjaer and the medical team that saved Christian Eriksen’s life at Euro 2020.

Related Articles

Back to top button
Change Language »