Robert Lewandowski wins FIFA Men’s Player of the Year


Bayern Munich and Polish striker Robert Lewandowski has won the FIFA The Best Men’s Player of the year to cap up a remarkable year. Second man after Luka Modric to break the duopoly of Lionel Messi and Cristiano Ronaldo. He defeated both men to win the award.

He scored 55 goals in 47 games in all competitions last season including 34 in the Bundesliga and 15 in 10 games in the Champions League. He has scored 18 goals in all competitions already this season.

He also won trophies with Bayern Munich in a remarkable year for the Bavarians, the Bundesliga (8th in a row for Bayern Munich) DFB Pokal, UEFA Champions League, UEFA Super Cup and the German Super Cup.

“I am happy. It is a great day for me. I thank my friends and colleagues and my team. When you win a prize ahead of Messi and Ronaldo means a lot for me. To win a prize like this means a lot and it defines how good you are as a player.” Lewandowski said after winning the award.

Marcus Rashford won the first award of the night, the FIFA Foundation Award for his role in fight against child food hunger in the UK.

The rest of the awards are as follows;

Related Articles

Back to top button
Change Language »